Current KEDC Building in IronvilleHistory of KEDC

It was 45 years ago that representatives of 17 public school districts and Morehead State University met to discuss the possibility of applying for grant funds under new landmark federal legislation to create something called a "supplementary education program."  Mason County Supt. Hubert Hume chaired the meeting which resulted in a temporary agreement to work together and to form a steering committee to finish the grant application.  Paintsville Supt. Oran Teater was elected committee chairman and MSU, at the suggestion of Dr. Morris Norfleet, agreed to be the temporary headquarters of the fledgling organization.

Less than a month later, this pioneering venture had progressed to the point that an organizational meeting was held for what had become the Eastern Kentucky Educational Development Corporation (EKEDC).  Initially, the corporation encompassed 18 counties, grouped into eight sections, each with a member on the corporation's Board of Directors, along with an MSU representative.

The original directors included Paintsville Supt. Oran Teater, Ashland Supt. William Shattles, Carter County Supt. Earnest Robison, Lawrence County Supt. William Cheek, Supt. Hume, bath County Supt. Glenmore Hogge, Floyd County Supt. Wayne Ratliff, Morgan County Supt. Walton Jones and Reedus Back, director of MSU's Breckinridge School.  Mr. Teater was elected chairman with meetings with federal officials in Washington in support of the grant application under Title III of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965.  The Paintsville Independent Board of Education agreed to serve as fiscal agent for the organization and the federal grant became a reality a few months later.  From that point in time, public education in Eastern Kentucky would never be the same again.

In 1985 EKEDC became known as the Kentucky Educational Development Corporation (KEDC).  Membership became opened to any Kentucky district and new members came from across the state.  KEDC is now recognized as the state's largest and oldest educational cooperative with over 60 school districts.



KEDC, 904 Rose Road Ashland, KY 41102-7104
Phone: (606) 928-0205  Fax: (606) 928-3785